Mystery Writers of America Southwest Chapter



Name: Lea Wait
Location: Edgecomb, Maine
Travel: To any state
Web site:
Bio: Maine author and 4th generation antique dealer Lea Wait writes the Shadows Antique Print Mystery series, including Agatha-finalist Shadows at the Fair (2002), Shadows on the Coast of Maine (2003), Shadows on the Ivy (2004), and Shadows at the Spring Show (2005). In addition, she writes acclaimed historical novels for children aged 7 and up, including Stopping To Home (2001), Seaward Born (2003), Wintering Well (2004), and Finest Kind (2006). Lea is also the single adoptive parent of four Asian daughters, who came home at ages 8-10 and are now adults.
Possible topics: Becoming a Writer: Journey to publication.
Applying Strategic Planning Techniques to Jump-Start Your Writing Career (Lea was a strategic planner for AT&T for many years).
The Past as Present: All Lea's books depend on a deep understanding of the past. Why is history important today, how reseach can make it clear, and why issues are sometimes clearer when seen from a distance.
How An Idea Becomes a Book: Basics of research, writing, editing, and working with an agent and editor.
Writing the Historical Novel: Making it accurate—and accessible!
Writing Chapter Books for Children
Marketing Your Book: The basics, from websites to touring, to getting your name & your book in the media.
Writing What You Know: My current books strongly reflect my knowledge of antiques and my experiences in adoption.
Also am happy to speak to schools, from elementary through college. Presentations customized for audiences.
Fees: $500/day + expenses in Maine or NH; $700/day + expenses in other states and Canada

Return to main speakers' page


About | Meetings | Programs | Members | Photos
Conference | Contact | Home